How to use the Article Editor

How to use the Article Editor

The Article Editor is your ultimate tool for creating content for your customers.

The Article Editor is your ultimate tool for creating content for your customers. It offers the following features:

  • Content tab - A content editor to create articles that the bot serves to your customers
  • Visibility tab - Visibility settings to manage where your article is displayed, when it automatically expires, and which users can access the article in your knowledge base. You can also view the list of articles linked from the current article.
  • Options tab - Set channel value. See Can I offer a special response to a high-value question?
  • Notes tab - Add notes to your article. See How to add notes to an article.
  • Revisions tab - View and revert to previous revisions of your article. See How to view or revert to previous article revisions.
  • Comments tab - View comments of end-users who use the Advise widget
  • Rejections tab - As part of the content management workflow, add rejection notes to the article. See How to define a content management workflow.
  • Save a draft version, publish or delete the article
  • Toggle the status of the article between online and offline by clicking Set Live

To create a new article, do the following:

  1. In the AI Console, open the Article Editor:
    • In the left navigation menu, click Knowledge > Add Article..
    • In the left navigation menu, click Knowledge > All articles, then click New Answer.
  2. Type a question in the Add title field and type the answer in the text editor.
  3. Save your article:
    • Click Save if you have not finished editing the article and you want to save an offline draft.
    • Click Publish to publish the new article in the Knowledge Base.
    • Click Publish & close to publish the new article and return to the All Articles page.

How to control the visibility of articles

As a content manager, you may want to limit the access to specific content for a variety of purposes:

  • You may want to make the information available only via a support page, where there is enough space to display rich content.
  • The information has business sensitivity, such as closing an account. While offering this article via search for users who explicitly look for this information, you may not want to expose it via navigation and FAQ.
  • There may be content that should be available to agents when replying to tickets but unavailable to external users.

You can set article visibility on the Visibility tab of the Article Editor. By default, an article is visible in all touchpoints. To make it unavailable in a specific touchpoint, deselect that touchpoint. If you want to keep an article in your knowledge base, but not display it at all, turn it offline.

Note: On the right side of the Visibility tab, You can see the articles that link to the currently selected one.
  1. Go to the Knowledge > Articles page in the AI Console and select the article that you want to modify.
  2. On the Visibility tab, select which touchpoints should display the article:
    • Search and Auto-Complete - article is available in search based widget
    • Support Center - article is available in support center
    • FAQ Widget - article is available for use in FAQ
    • Open in widget link -
    • Links from other articles - article is available for use as linked answer
    • Ticketing agent interface - article is available an answer when replying to tickets in the Ticketing > Open tickets menu. The name of the touchpoint where the article is available as an answer is displayed in the top-right corner of the answer as follows:
      • If the answer is available only when you answer an open ticket, a red "Agent Only" label is displayed
      • If the answer is available only in some of the touchpoints, then labels with these tocuhpoints will be presented, offering the agents an insight into why the user has escalated their request
      • If the answer is available in all touchpoints then no special indication is displayed
    • Do not index this article - search engines will not find the article
    • Show article in sitemap.xml - allows search engines to find the article, which is important for SEO purposes. By default, all articles are indexed.
    • Publish on - set a date to automatically publish the article on a future date
    • Expires on - set a date when the article should be unavailable for your customers. The article will be moved to the Knowledge > Expired menu.
    • Permission groups - see How to assign group permissions for articles
    • Lock article - lock the article so that only you can edit or delete it
  3. Publish the article.

How to assign group permissions for articles

You can define permission groups to make an article accessible to only a certain group of users in the AI Console. By doing so, you can essentially assign content managers to specific content types who will not see each other's articles.

Important: This feature is disabled by default. Contact your Customer Success representative for further information

To add a user to a permission group, do the following:

  1. In the AI Console, go to Admin Center > Users and click on the name of a user.
  2. Click the Permission Groups icon at the top of the page:

  3. Click Create group.
  4. Name your group and make sure you select the right Knowledge Base where you want to associate your articles with permission groups.
  5. Click Save.
  6. Click the name of a user to edit it and click Permission Groups at the top of the page.
  7. Make the user the member of a permission group by selecting a group. On the user details page, you see the associated permission groups in the Member of field.
  8. Once you are done, you must also assign articles to permission groups:
    1. Go to Knowledge > Articles and select an article.
    2. On the Options tab, select the Permission Groups that you want to assign to the article.
    3. Publish and close the article.
      Note: You must add articles one-by-one to a permission group.
Once you are done, only users in the proper permission groups will see the article.

How to view or revert to previous article revisions

You can view earlier revisions of an article to check what it previously looked like.
Note: You cannot compare two revisions in the Article Editor.
  1. Go to the Knowledge > Articles page in the AI Console and select an article.
  2. On the Revisions tab, select a version of the article that you want to view.

    The Content tab now displays the selected revision of the article.

  3. To revert to the selected revision, click the Revert to this revision link at the top of the Article Editor.
  4. Publish the article.

How to add notes to an article

You can add notes to an article when you want to provide additional information to other content editors. These notes are related to the article itself and not to the individual revisions.
  1. Go to the Knowledge > Articles page in Bold360 AI and select an article.
  2. On the Notes tab, add your remarks about the article.
  3. Publish the article.

How to style your content

You have the following options to display formatted content to your customers:
  • You can use a full range of fonts to style your article content:
    1. Select the text that you want to customize.
    2. From the Font Name menu, select a font face.
  • You can modify the list style type of bullet and numbered lists:
    1. Right-click the list that you want to modify.
    2. Depending on the list type, click Bulleted List Properties or Numbered List Properties.
    3. You can select the list style from a drop-down list.
  • You can add indentation to any HTML element in an article.

What about that warning about conflicting intents?

If a content manager attempts to add a new title or a new phrase that is similar to a phrase in a different article, a warning is displayed. The user is able to view the article that holds the similar phrase to determine if the two articles need to be consolidated or bypass the warning.

Important: Similar phrases in separate articles may negatively impact the NLP and therefore not recommended.