How to transfer a chat

How to transfer a chat

You can transfer chats to other agents or departments in your Bold360 organization.

Important: You must have Actions > Chat > Assign Own permission to transfer chats.
  1. To transfer a chat to another team member, click Transfer at the bottom of the chat panel.


    Restriction: During remote access, Transfer is unavailable.

    Result: You are prompted to select an agent or department.

  2. Select the receiving agent or department and click Transfer.

    The No departments option includes those agents who are not members of any department. You cannot remove this item from the department selector.

    Note: When you transfer a chat to an agent, make sure their workload allows them to take an additional chat. The number next to an agent's name represents their current tasks, excluding emails.

    Result: The chat is transferred and removed from your workspace (the column closes). The customer is not notified about the transfer, but the name of the new agent will be displayed in the chat window.

Keep in mind that if Automatic Distribution is configured and you select Transfer Automatically then the chat will be assigned back to you if there are no other available agents.

Transfer chats while monitoring sessions

You can transfer chats to an agent in your organization while monitoring conversations.

  1. To list chats, click the arrow in the-top left corner of the agent workspace above your list of sessions.
  2. Select a chat on the Bot, Queued, or Assigned to Agent tab.

    Result: You can select multiple chats to transfer.

    Note: To transfer chats from the bot, you must have the Actions > Chats > Assign other permission enabled in the Admin Center.
  3. Click Assign to... and select an agent or a department where you want to transfer the chat.

    Result: Optionally, select Transfer automatically to use automatic chat distribution and let Bold360 choose an available agent.

  4. Click Transfer.
You can also transfer the chat to yourself by clicking Assign to me.

How can I tell who transferred the chat to me

When you open the chat on your workspace, you can see the name of the person who transferred the chat to you in the header of the chat message:

Depending on how the chat was transferred, you can see the following messages:

  • Transferred from Agent - The agent manually transferred the chat to you.
  • Auto-transferred from Agent - The agent selected the Transfer automatically option when transferring the chat. By doing so, Automatic Chat Distribution selected you as the most appropriate agent to take over the chat.
  • Escalated from Bot - The customer escalated the chat from the bot to a live agent and Automatic Chat Distribution assigned the chat to you.